Navigation 24 Hours Hotline: +49 (0)170 5700247 fleet hamburg. rechtsanwälte // solicitors // barrister. DE / EN

Dharshini Bandara

With extensive experience in advising and representing clients in English legal matters from Hamburg, Dharshini focuses her legal expertise on Commercial and Shipping law representing clients in litigation and arbitration proceedings before the English courts and arbitration Tribunals. She regularly advises clients in relation to drafting and negotiating international commercial contracts be it sale, design, service or construction contracts. 

She also deals with all aspects of dry and wet shipping, to include Charterparty and Bills of Lading disputes, cargo claims, shipbuilding/construction disputes and maritime casualties – assisting clients in emergency response and ensuing court or arbitration proceedings. 

Recent work

  • Co-ordinating the emergency response and advising Charterers and their underwriters in relation to a casualty of a multi – purpose vessel off German waters, and representing clients in London arbitration.
  • London High Court Proceedings in relation to a dispute under a European distribution agreement for a manufacturer and trader of chemical products.
  • London arbitration proceedings defending claims for damage to hull of a vessel carrying a cargo of Sulphur. 
  • Drafting supply of services and design contracts for a leading machinery manufacturer.

Appraisals

  • Dharshini Bandara “is always available in emergencies” (Legal500 2017)
  • Dharshini  Bandara, who is admitted as a barrister in England and Wales is recommended for her Assertiveness (Legal500 2016)
  • Dharshini Bandara was recognized as "Maritime Arbitration - Lawyer of the Year - Germany" at the Finance Monthly Law Awards 2018.
  • Dharshini Bandara has received the ” FINANCE MONTHLY GLOBAL AWARDS 2018” and is as “SECTOR WINNER“ Maritime Arbitration Lawyer of the Year, Germany (Finance Monthly 2018).
  • Dharshini Bandara won the Lawyer Monthly – Women in Law 2016 Award for her “outstanding legal expertise and contribution within the practice area of Shipping & Maritime Lawyer” (Lawyer Monthly, 2016).

Navigation 24 Stunden Notruf: +49 (0)170 5700247 fleet hamburg. rechtsanwälte // solicitors // barrister. DE / EN

Dharshini Bandara

Mit ihrer umfangreichen Erfahrung bei der Beratung und Vertretung von Mandanten in englischen Recht von Hamburg aus konzentriert Dharshini ihre rechtliche Expertise auf Handels- und Seerecht. Sie vertritt Mandanten vor englischen Gerichten und Schiedsgerichten. Regelmäßig berät sie Mandanten beim Entwurf und in Verhandlung von internationalen Verträgen, z.B. von Kauf-, Ingenieurentwicklungs-, Dienstleistungs- und Konstruktionsverträgen. 

Dharshini Bandara befasst sich mit allen Aspekten des „dry and wet shipping”, also mit Streitigkeiten aus Charterparties und Konnossementen, Ladungsschäden, Schiffbau und  Konstruktionen sowie mit Schiffsunfällen; sie unterstützt die Mandanten in Notfällen und vertritt sie in sich anschließenden Gerichts- und Schiedsgerichtsverfahren.  

Referenzen (Auswahl)

  • Koordination von Notfallmaßnahmen und Beratung eines Charterers und dessen Versicherer im Zusammenhang mit dem Unfall eines Mehrzweckschiffes vor der deutschen Küste; Vertretung der Mandantin im Londoner Schiedsverfahren.
  • Verfahren vor dem London High Court im Rahmen einer Auseinandersetzung unter einem europäischen Vertriebsvertrages für einen Produzenten und Verkäufer von Chemieprodukten.
  • Londoner Schiedsverfahren zur Abwehr von Schadensersatzansprüchen wegen Schäden am Schiff in Folge des Transports von Schwefel.
  • Entwurf von Werklieferungs- und Engineering-Verträgen für einen führenden Maschinenhersteller.

Stimmen aus der Presse

  • Dharshini Bandara ist im Notfall stets verfügbar und sehr angenehm im Umgang. (Legal500, 2017)
  • Die als Barrister in England und Wales zugelassene Dharshini Bandara wird außerdem für ihre ‘Durchsetzungsfähigkeit’ gelobt. (Legal500, 2016)
  • Dharshini Bandara erhält die Auszeichnung "Maritime Arbitration - Lawyer of the Year - Germany" bei den Finance Monthly Law Awards 2018.
  • Dharshini Bandara hat den” FINANCE MONTHLY GLOBAL AWARDS 2018” gewonnen und ist als “SECTOR WINNER“ Maritime Arbitration Lawyer of the Year, Germany (Finance Monthly 2018).
  • Dharshini Bandara hat den Lawyer Monthly – Women in Law 2016 Award für ihre “outstanding legal expertise and contribution within the practice area of Shipping & Maritime Lawyer” gewonnen. (Lawyer Monthly, 2016)